New Year’s Resolution (My Ass)

[image credit]

This is a reminder that there is no pressure to make changes in the new year. Just because it’s a new year doesn’t mean something has to change. For some people, the new year motivates them to make the changes they’ve been planning—New Year’s Resolutions, as they call it. But for others, it’s a lot of pressure.

Then again, you don’t have to do it. Just move at your own pace. I hope you don’t pressure yourself too much. And don’t let anyone force you to change when you don’t think it’s the right time for you. You can make changes for yourself anytime during the year anyway. 

I mean, I made a change in my life four months ago and I’m still adjusting to it. If I made another change this new year, it would be too overwhelming for me. I just try not to put pressure on myself about it and enjoy it. 

I hated having to be required to come up with New Year’s Resolutions as a kid in school. Even if I did come up with something, it’s all a bunch of lies. I was forced. Now, as an adult, I don’t pressure myself to come up with anything anymore. I make changes in my life only when absolutely needed or when I want to.

Honestly, I don’t even care about New Year’s so much. It’s not that I hate it, nor do I like it either. I just don’t care. I celebrate it with my family, but that’s it. What I hate about it is that my dogs get so terrified of fireworks that their whole bodies shake. One New Year’s Eve, one of them got so scared that she peed and pooped in the middle of the living room. Poor thing. This year, she and I just stayed in my room until the fireworks stopped.

Anyway, it’s very good to make plans for the year. Just don’t put too much pressure on yourself about them. If something on your list goes as planned, then great. If not, please don’t be so hard on yourself. Nothing’s perfect.

On the other hand, it’s also completely okay if you can’t think of any plans that you want to make during the year. You can do things one by one, little by little, at your own pace. No pressure, no rush. 

Take care of yourself. Self-care. Self-love. You know all that shit. 

Leave a comment