Sometimes, Quitting is the Best Option

[image]

We’ve always been taught that quitting is a bad thing. But it’s only a bad thing depending on your situation and each person has different experiences. 

My Job in Finance

I once worked in finance, disregarding my passion for writing. The company was a prestigious one, provided me with many benefits, paid well, the people I worked with were respectful and accommodating, and the workplace was to die for. Overall, it was a great place to work.

Dismally, I never felt like I belonged there. At first, I thought it would take time for me to feel some sort of belongingness, but several months later, my feelings didn’t change. It was a contractual job and I only had to work there for seven months. In month five, I was starting to have a tough time and decided that I hated it. It was too repetitive and exhausting. I didn’t feel like I was growing at all.

I understand that having a job comes with its difficulties. However, there are jobs where the difficulties are the good part of your work. Going through adversities in your career can mean that you’re growing and learning from your mistakes. You’re able to be stronger and smarter. In my writing jobs, I’ve had editors critique my work and learned every time.

Unfortunately, I didn’t feel that during my finance job. Of course, I had made some mistakes. I was criticized, coached, and educated. I’ve learned something on the job, but I didn’t grow.

In month six, my manager asked to see me in private to offer me a new contract and extend my current one for another three months. Understandably, I was over the moon and initially accepted the generous offer. I was grateful that they appreciated my work and wanted more from me. Although, I had come to think of it days later that I didn’t want to go on working this dull and monotonous job. I didn’t see myself showing up as my best self in that company. So I decided to back out.

Because true belongingness only happens when we present our authentic, imperfect selves to the world. Our sense of belonging can never be greater than our level of self-acceptance.

Brené Brown, The Gifts of Imperfection

A colleague of mine expressed that while she respected it, she was disappointed in my last-minute change of decision. She thought that I was wasting a good opportunity that could turn out something more. Although I agreed that it was indeed a good chance to boost my career in finance, I disagreed that it was wasted. 

There would be another candidate who would be more deserving for that role and I was pretty sure that it wasn’t me.

By the end of our conversation, she understood where I was coming from and was happy for me to have transferred back to writing. In my current job as a writer, I couldn’t be happier.

What I Learned

Quitting is not a bad thing. It’s not a sign of weakness. In fact, it can be a sign of strength and willingness to move forward to a better life. It’s not an indication that you’re not trying hard enough. Quitting something doesn’t mean that you’re giving up on your dream. It just means that you’re moving on to different paths to achieve that same dream. It’s a sign that you’re prioritizing yourself and your values.

So drop that course, quit that job, leave that relationship. There are always opportunities for you to do better in life.

Of course, before quitting, it comes with heavy thinking and decision-making. It can be a hard choice to make because it can cost you a lot. Only you can know your own situation and how much you’re willing to risk. Since I’m working from home now, quitting my finance job cost me colleagues who I can eat lunch with, a great office, and medical benefits. 

However, it can also benefit you in a lot of ways. Quitting my job gained me a flexible schedule, much less commute, and more time for my hobbies and social life. Most of all, happiness, peace of mind, and passion for my work. I can’t ask for anything better. 

Leave a comment